Indie Dev Podcast


Episode 37 – Penka Kouneva

July 08, 2017

Composer Penka Kouneva is known as an exceptional talent and an artist of uncommon passion. Her composing credits include the games Prince of Persia and Transformers . She has scored on her own The Mummy: Prodigium Strike VR game, and a dozen mobile games including Cookie Jam 2, Mayhem, Chime Sharp 2, Rollers of the Realm, Hades VR experience and others.

Recently Penka composed for the American Astronauts on a $30M NASA exhibit Heroes and Legends, permanently housed at the Kennedy Space Center.  Her score for 3D films and AR installations was recorded with large orchestra. She is also a Universal Music-released composer (The Woman Astronaut orchestral album).

Penka worked as an arranger, orchestrator and score producer for Hans Zimmer and also for Neal Acree (on all Blizzard games – Overwatch, World of Warcraft, Starcraft II, Diablo III, Heroes of the Storm), and for many other top games: Sony’s Bloodborne, Gears of War 2, 3, Sims 3, Dragon Age 2, Transformers, Lair, Enter the Matrix and films: Matrix, Ender’s Game, Elysium, Need for Speed, Pirates 3, Transformers, Ninja Turtles 2. Penka is on the GDC Advisory Board and also on the Advisory Board of Game Audio Network Guild.

Get in touch with Penka

If any game makers have questions about audio, or want to speak with Penka about helping them, they are most welcome to reach out, and she would love to hear from you. One of the key points of our conversation was around the importance of community, helping others, and giving back, and Penka wants to do exactly that.

All of her contact information can be found here:

Listen to the podcast

Download the .mp3

Subscribe via iTunes


  • Penka’s IMDB
  • Panzer Dragoon
    • “Flight” is the name of the track on stage 1. This was when I knew CD-based media was really going to change the gaming world. I absolutely love this game for the opening. It was released at the Launch of the Sega Saturn, and really helped to usher in CDs for gaming.
  • Shadow of the Colossus
    • The music changes dynamically, as you begin to climb the boss. As you move further away, or lose your grip and fall, the music also transitions. It really was magic the way they put this score together.
    • Your character is silent, so the visuals and orchestrated score tell the entire story.
    • The 4:00 part is where you can really start to hear the music kick in
  • Yuzo Koshiro’s musical influences
    • I always found it fascinating that a Japanese composer would have influence from Italian house music, and that the soundtracks would be huge in the states.
    •  He also played a Mafest in 2013, and it was his first show in the U.S., as he wasn’t aware that people enjoyed it music!  This was the reason I went to MAGfest, and I had a blast in this crowd.

All music is courtesy of Benjamin Briggs

Benjamin Briggs

Subscribe via Stitcher
Subscribe via iTunes

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top